“The dismantling of the 14th unit provided a unique and unexpected perspective for the archeological research of the eastern part of the Kremlin Hill, where the Chudov and Voznesensky Monasteries and the Small Nikolayevsky Palace, which were destroyed in 1929, were located,” the presidential property department told Interfax.
The archeologists managed to find the Yekaterinskaya Church of the Voznesensky Monastery (1817), the monastery canteen joined to the Annunciation Church and the Alexeyevskaya Church of the Chudov Monastery (late 17th century).
The archeological studies are being done by the Institute of Archeology of the Russian Academy of Sciences, which began working in November 2015.
The territory vacated by the removal of the 14th unit was landscaped on the basis of the historical construction of the Chudov and Voznesensky Monasteries found by the archeologists.
The proposal to remove this administrative building was made by Russian President Vladimir Putin. The unit was built in 1932-1934 on the sites of the Chudov and Voznesensky Monasteries and the Small Nikolayevsky Palace, which were destroyed in 1929-1930. It was among the buildings that formed the Ivanovskaya Square.
The demolition of the 14th unit of the Kremlin, which was located between the Spasskiye Gates and the Senate Palace, began in November 2015.